This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Employer says work conditions have not caused the problem or made it worse

This is my first post so hello all! I am studying this very helpful website in small amounts and best wishes to you all in managing your dry eye.

I’m going to try and keep my story / question simple by ignoring plugs, goggles and drops and apologies if this is similar to a question already posted, if so please direct me and I will read the previous responses! Here goes.

I may have had an ‘underlying medical eye condition’ but if so I was unaware of it. I had been wearing contact lenses day in day out with no problem, doing my job and everything else I wanted to do without thinking twice about it.

I stared a different job with my employer, it was fairly similar to what I had been doing before but with a slightly higher amount of screen use and a different position in the office which may have meant more noticeable air conditioning. Within a few days of starting the new job it became apparent there was a problem as extreme eye pain flared up in my left eye making it difficult to concentrate. I was very sure the change of job and the air conditioning were the cause of the pain because it went once I was out of the building. Among other things, I stopped wearing contact lenses.

A year later things had got worse, I could now feel both my eyes dry out within a short time of arriving in work and they stayed that way all day which was really uncomfortable and pain could build up. Once out of work I could start to feel moisture in my eyes again, but maybe not as much as before. For reasons of comfort I stopped things like book reading and using the internet.