This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Serum Tears and PROSE

I was fitted with PROSE lenses in August at Johns Hopkins and am so grateful for the relief they have given me for ATD, MGD, ocular rosacea and corneal neuropathy. What a huge difference in what I am able to do again, read, use a computer and leave my house without sealed dark goggles! I still have a bit of pain left for which I take gabapentin. I have been using serum tears since May 2013 and it was recently suggested to me that I try using serum tears in my device and also as I would use preservative free tears over the top when needed. When I do this I do get more pain relief but my eyes feel itchy by the end of the day. The itchiness only has occurred when I am using them with my PROSE lenses. I use them first thing in the morning before PROSE and after I take my PROSE out at night without any itching. I use 50% which are compounded with preservative free saline by Leiters.

Does anyone have any advice on using serum tears with PROSE and what percentage people are using? One suggestion was to drop the percentage to 20%. Any ideas on what might be causing the itching?

Hi Bookwoman,

I, too ,wear PROSE lens and was fitted at BFS in Boston. In fact, I was just there a couple of weeks ago for a re-fit for my right eye. When I first started using serum tears I asked if they could be used inside the device and the answer was no since there were no studies regarding the "safety" of the tears/ I am glad that philosophy has changed since I would like to try them inside the devices as well. I actually stopped using the serum drops because it is a bit of pain to travel to Philly to have my blood drawn to have them made and I did not see much improvment when using them over the PROSE lenses but perhaps using them inside would make a bigger difference. Please keep us posted.
    Last edited by Amyfloor; 15-Dec-2013, 07:04. Reason: spelling

Comment