Using Scleral lenses to manage dry eye

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Using Scleral lenses to manage dry eye

After a bit of advise around using Scleral lenses to help dry eye.

I'm struggling with dry eye after LASIK and it's impacting my professional life as a software engineer.

I've read about people using lenses to manage their condition.

I was wondering how this would help, I would of thought lenses are the last thing people with dry eyes could tolerate?

Currently relying heavily on Systane Ultra to manage my condition, do you still continue to use drops during the lenses wear or does the fluid in the lenses provide enough lubrication?

Sorry to ask really basic question but I'm really new to all this and looking at all my options to try and get my life back on track.

I've also heard of one guy using Dailies TOTAL 1, soft lenses to help, again he suffers from LASIK dry eye.

An added complication is I've got MGD caused by poor blinking, of course I don't want to make this worse.

Big thanks in advance for tips and advise.

Hi quattroboy. Scleral lenses are being used increasingly to treat dry eyes (including from LASIK) and other eye issues, as well as some patients without any eye issues except vision correction, are opting for sclerals due to its superior ability to correct vision compared to soft contacts. So it's not so much a last resort anymore, especially if it can help manage the discomfort and help protect one's corneas from further damage, while one continues to look for resolution of the root cause. I wear sclerals, and it helps me with daily functioning and activities that otherwise would be more uncomfortable or not possible.

Below is a good general description of sclerals on the PROSE scleral website:

http://www.bostonsight.org/PROSE/PRO...ats/Post-LASIK