Pancreatic Cancer and Chemotherapy

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pancreatic Cancer and Chemotherapy

I am a Registered Nurse in advanced clinical practice. I am medically retired. In May 2007 I was diagnosed with Stage 4B advanced pancreatic cancer. There is no cure. I underwent intense chemotherapy from May 2007 to August 2007. The effects of the chemotherapy caused my dry eyes along with a host of other problems including dry, cracked toe and finger nails. I had to have a great toe nail removed. I have weak cartilage in my ears and have to sleep on a special pillow with a hole in the middle.
    The chemotherapy gave me low platelet and white blood counts permenantly. I have a pre-leukemia condition.
    The chemotherapy has been able to extend my life somewhat. I am on hospice care, but I get around fine and do not need oxygen. My dry eyes have gotten progressively worse in the last 3 months requiring ointment at bedtime and again during the night. I also need ointment twice daily along with frequent gels and drops. I just started Restasis. I had punctal plugs inserted last week-one fell out and the other got stuck partly below my punctal openning-and the doctor has been unable to remove it.
    My eyes constantly feel like something is in them. I also have a burning sensation. I cannot read for more than 30 minutes at a time.
    I am 59 years old.
    My name is Art and I live in Albuquerque New Mexico

Hello

Welcome to the forum, I'm new here too.

I'm so sorry to hear about your cancer and all the terrible side effects you've had from the treatment. You've certainly been through the wringer.

Have you tried preservative-free drops? My eyes seem less irritated with those. Do your eyes get red and inflamed?

Comment

Yes

Yes, I am using preservative free drops/gels and those that say they are preservative free when they are in your eye.
      -Art

Comment

Hi, Art.