Referral to an Ophthalmologist Skilled in Meibomian Gland Dysfunction

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Referral to an Ophthalmologist Skilled in Meibomian Gland Dysfunction

I'm not an eye doctor. For the past two months I've had increased tears, never enough to run over my cheeks. I've been to three optometrists and three Ophthalmologists from San Francisco to San Jose, California. Not one of the eye doctors agreed on a treatment, but they all said via slit lamp my Meibomian glands are not functioning properly and appear dry.

I've tried eight different ocular lubricants, singularly and in combinations, and the best one has been the new Systane Balance. Used a week of Azasite 1% eye drops twice a day. Pataday drops (an anti-histamine eye drop) did not help.

The two annoying symptoms are:

• 1. Feeling the excess tears at the lid margins, and
    • 2. Visual blurring only related to and caused by the tear pool.

There are no other symptoms... no buring, itching, foreign body sensations, pain, etc. Four of those professionals said my NLDs were obstructed, but they are wrong. Fluorescein dye flows well into my nose. The naso-lacrimal ducts are not obstructed.

Have have prescriptions for oral Azithromycin and Vibramycin but haven't started either. have read many websites on this subject and it seems that this condition is poorly understood and treatments are variable and not definitive.

Does anyone here have the name of an unusually skilled optometrist or Ophthalmologist, well-trained in MGD, from San Francisco to San Jose, California ?

I really like Michael Gagnon MD in Pleasanton. I know many of his patients. He knows MGs. I think the practice name is Valley Eyecare.

Were you given any other MGD-specific treatments besides Azasite?

That's a very odd symptom pattern for MGD alone.
    Rebecca Petris
    The Dry Eye Foundation
    dryeyefoundation.org
    800-484-0244

Comment

More Rxs recommended; new approach