X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Australian optometrist here

Hi all,

I am an optometrist working in New South Wales, Australia. I hope I can be of help and also learn from all your experiences. I believe that being a member of this forum will help my quality of care for dry eye patients. I have little experience fitting scleral lenses myself but have seen great success by other practitioners fitting them for debilitating dry eye.

Lovely to meet you all.

Hi Roland,
    Thank-you very much for coming here and showing an interest in dry eyes. You may-be interested in my blog: http://www.blockedtearductsurgeryadult.com/?p=182 I haven't sent the open letter to optometrists yet due to time constraints but want to collect a list of open minded therapist willing to assist by trying new therapies.

Sclerals aren't the panacea for dry eyes. They may help aqueous tear deficiency but not meibomian gland dsyfunction. They are also hard to fit. For example: I travel 3 hours to see my optometrist in melbourne and after about 15 visits, we still don't have a correct fit. There is a always some problem, either it's not comfortable, too tight, vision is not good, etc. Then it takes three weeks to send off and get adjusted.

Comment

///////////////
      Last edited by hankm9; 29-Oct-2016, 23:44.

Comment

Hi Fellow Aussies,

I realise you have a horrible time and know it is difficult to get decent treatment here, but there is research going on here in Australia too.

http://sydney.edu.au/medicine/eye/ne...lepharitis.php

Comment

WOWEE! Thanks Wagnermid!

Comment

Very, very welcome, Roland ~ it's a joy to see you here networking with us and we wish you a very good year
            Paediatric ocular rosacea ~ primum non nocere

Comment

Hi Roland ,
              I also should have said I'm really glad that you are contributing, it's great to see interest from Australia.

Comment

Originally posted by wagnermid View Post
                Hi Fellow Aussies,