Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hello! MGD in remission 6 months thanks to Tacrolimus!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello! MGD in remission 6 months thanks to Tacrolimus!

Hi all! Long time lurker, first time poster. 31/female. This could go in Triumphs for sure but since I'm new I'm posting it here to give you a bit of background. I'll try to keep it short.

DISCLAIMER: I am not a Doctor and I do not advise anyone to take a drug without Doctor approval and supervision. I am discussing topical Tacrolimus here NOT systemic Tacrolimus.

I have MGD. So far as I know, I don't have Aqueous Deficiency. I don't recall my Schirmer's (done without anesthesia) but remember being told it was "great". My oil was consistently thick and white and needed a lot of pressure to expel. I always had several bumps (like little pimples) at the gland line - blocked glands I suppose? I also had signs of anterior blepharitis - very occasional itching of the lash line, once (and only once) crusting. My lashes had been thinning and grew in every direction but straight.

My symptoms began about 7 or 8 years ago. To give you a picture of my life at that point: I was anorexic and had not had a period in at least two years, I drank most days, smoked pot almost constantly and used other drugs fairly often. When I did eat, it was junk food - often sugary treats. I also never took my eye makeup off preferring to get a good smoky eye by sleeping in it.