I Need HELP!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I Need HELP!

Hello everyone I'm new to dry eye chat. My name is Erin and I'm a 22 year old who just got diagnosed with dry eye six months ago. I never had any dry eye symptoms until one day when I accidently slept in my contacts. The next day my eyes were bloodshot and dry ever since.

I am having a terrible time dealing with the pain. I have severe guilt that I caused this to myself, and I just wish my life could be normal again. I am very active teacher who loved to be doing things. Now my life is on hold.

I tried about everything. I have plugs, drops, and am now on restasis. Nothing seems to work. Also, everytime i use drops they turn my eyes bright red and make things worse.

To make matters worse no one my age (at least that i now of) has this condition. They don't understand it and think im just complaining. I really want a solution so this doesn't have to be a life long problem. I can not deal with this for the rest of my life.

Thank you for listening. Just writing this out and knowing there are other people like me really does help. Please let me know what I can do.

~Erin

I wouldn't blame yourself too much, which is easier said than done, esp. when you life has been made really difficult. But it's not like you did something that a lot of people who are regular contact lens wears haven't already done.

Comment

Erin, I'm so sorry to hear this. - You're definitely not alone. We have a lot of young people on this forum actually.

Drops and plugs will only get you so far. My favorite suggestions for newbies are:

1) EYEWEAR . Daytime or nighttime or (ideally) both.

2) WARM COMPRESSES (esp. if you have meibomian gland dysfunction), or alternatively ice or some kind of cool soother if you just need some quick pain relief.

3) Read Dr. Latkany's book "The Dry Eye Remedy" to get an easy-to-read education about dry eye and all the things you can do to treat it.