X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lagophtalmos and LASIK ?

Hi all,
    I am considering Myopia surgery. I have a -2,5 glass correction.
    I am not an expert but I understand that the two main surgical operation are LASIK (best) and PRK. I also suffer of nocturnal lagophtalmos (sleeping with eyes open). SOmetimes it's really painfull in the morning, sometimes it's okay.

Do you think it is dangerous to have the LASIK if I suffer of lagophtalmos, I guess the eyes have to remain closed for a a while after the operation.

Any advice ?

Originally posted by exam View Post
    Hi all,
    I am considering Myopia surgery. I have a -2,5 glass correction.
    I am not an expert but I understand that the two main surgical operation are LASIK (best) and PRK. I also suffer of nocturnal lagophtalmos (sleeping with eyes open). SOmetimes it's really painfull in the morning, sometimes it's okay.

Do you think it is dangerous to have the LASIK if I suffer of lagophtalmos, I guess the eyes have to remain closed for a a while after the operation.

Any advice ?
    Hi there and welcome. A few things for you to think about with this decision... bearing in mind I'm no expert, just an opinionated person.

1) You have a very low prescription that you want corrected. Personally I do not believe that -2.5 is worth all the risks of LASIK (the risks specific to the flap).
    2) You clearly have already some issues from the lagophthalmos. Do you have anything to help you with this, for example, drops or ointment or a moisture goggle or mask or anything to cover your eyes at night.
    3) BOTH LASIK and PRK have dry eye as a side effect (though with LASIK it happens much more frequently and can be more severe). If you have any condition that makes you susceptible to dry eye before surgery, and then you add the surgery, you are increasing your risk for problems after the surgery.