Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is it safe to use NatraSan long term?

Hi,

I've been using NatraSan for maybe a few months now and just wondering if this is safe to use long term.

I'd like to know this also. I assumed there is no long term data since all of these hypochlorous acid sprays were only introduced into the dry market over the past few years, therefore it's likely that no long term data (i.e. spanning decades, for example) is available.

Comment

I would assume that too. I've been using Natrasan for a few months now, I really hope this isn't going to cause problems down the line. Next eye care pro I see I will ask if they think it could be harmful, and post back.

Comment

I expect we are the testers for long term use here. Is there even a study going on?

Comment

I have not heard of a study but then I haven't searched exhaustively looking for one either.

Comment

woodart , How , any follow up on using Natrasan? Do you still (effectively) use it?

Comment

I still am using it. My last visit with the doc was decent. She was impressed by how I was using it and hopefully the next visit will at the very least show things are not getting worse. But the bleph and mgd are not bothering me that I know of right now. I don't expect it will cure it but will take whatever I can get. No longer taking doxy now which I prefer not to. I use it at night by spraying it on my eyes closed before putting on my eyeseals. I am going to keep going with it unless something changes.

Comment

I tried BlephaSol for 2 months, as per what my doctor advised but I think it irritated the eyelids and did not have that well of an effect. Also, I use cyclosporine eyedrops and am afraid that using strong anti-bacterials like natrasan and blephasol might affect these eyedrops.