1 year post LASIK. Is there any hope?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1 year post LASIK. Is there any hope?

Good day, dear members of the forum. I am glad I've found this website. Everyone seems to care about each other and try to help as much as possible.
    I am writing in a hope of getting help and becoming better too. I'll try to be as short as possible.

My story: Male, age 23. My prescription was -0.75 and -1.00. Contact lenses user for 6 years (2014 - 2020). Used only outside of home. During summer of 2019 I worked as a lifeguard and was wearing contacts all working hours. By the end of the summer I've noticed my eyes were irritated and sometimes burnt. Bought some aritifical tears to use on top of contacts since I've never did this before. Seemed to help a bit, however, when I returned to my studies, I've noticed that by the end of days my eyes "burn" a bit, but this was gone when I took off my contacts.

How I decided to do LASIK: during the pandemic I worked a lot on my diploma on PC from home. That's where I started to have "burning eyes" even without contacts. Then I've got interested in eye surgery and though to myself "If I do an eye surgery, I'll never wear contacts. That means, my eyes wouldn't be irritated any more". Now I sadly understand how bad this thought was.

When I came to the doctor's office, I immediately told this thought and explained that my eyes were a bit irritated rarely for the past time. They did all measurements and told me I am a perfect candidate. No dry eye detected on the scan, nothing. So I proceeded. That was June of 2020 (1 year ago)

Outcome of the surgery: 20/15 in both eyes, however, I developed moderate dry eyes and aberrations. All objects had some sort of "shadows" and light sources had glares even during day. My doctor told me everything is fine with my vision and my dryness will go away itself soon.

Timeline and other info:
    June 2020 - Surgery