X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How I'm reversing my dry eye

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting here, but I have read many DEZ threads over the past couple years. Not sure whether I'm supposed to post this here or in the dry eye triumphs section, but hopefully this is okay. There could be more exposure in this section, which is good in the chance that I'm onto something. I realize this post is very lengthy but I want to be thorough and provide sufficient context.

I have been having a couple crazy weeks, to say the least. It's hard to decide where to start. I guess I'll start by saying that I have been suffering from dry eye for 6.5 years, since I had Visian ICL refractive surgery. I was very near-sighted. I didn't get Lasik because I have thin corneas. The surgery went perfectly according to the surgeon and my optometrist, but I noticed dry eye symptoms immediately after the surgery. When I closed my eye lids and touched them, my eyes felt harder than before, I didn't produce as many tears, I would wake up in the middle of the night with dry, painful eyes, I became very sensitive to wind, I stopped producing tears when I woke up in the morning, it always felt like something was in my eyes, I couldn't focus them as well, and it felt like my blinking changed somehow. Eventually my meibomian glands became atrophied. Refractive eye exams even became a challenge for me, as when the optometrist would ask me "which one is more clear, #1 or #2?" I felt my eyes involuntarily changing focus slightly.

My optometrist said there was no link between refractive surgery and dry eye, but I just couldn't believe there was no connection given the experience of myself and those on this forum.