This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• newbie here, but not to the condition

Near as I can figure, I've been trying to ignore this dry-eye problem for about 11 years. Ignoring for several reasons, most notably because I tend to avoid docs unless there is uncontrollable bleeding or protruding bone. In addition, I have been caregiver for both parents, an ill spouse and alcoholic sibling, while working full time in a stressful environment all the while. (Hence, my avoidance with the medical community on my own behalf.)

I finally reached the end of what my eye doc refers to as "homeopathic" treatment (supplements, warm soaks, hydration, expensive OTC eye drops, yada yada yada), and started Xiidra about a month ago. What brought me to do this was the inability to get through the sticky crud on the outside of my lower lids (without peeling it off with a tweezers), and what that crud did to my skin - it puckers it up like crepe paper at a Homecoming dance. My eyes aged 20 years in a few short months. Stopped wearing makeup long ago....but now, cannot even tolerate diluted baby shampoo washes. Per doc's kind assessment, I have none of the other crummy issues many of you are dealing with, just undiagnosed primary Sjogrens Syndrome.

My reason for being here is to learn. I am hoping to connect with others who are simply having trouble dealing with what that mucous does to the skin around the eyes. Small potatoes for what many of you are going through, but I've been to other places seeking understanding, and not finding it. Hoping some here have insight on this.

Thank you, and blessings to all.