Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Greetings and may you all have a merry and festive new year!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Greetings and may you all have a merry and festive new year!

This is my first time here. I am a 47 yo male in PA and have had dry eye issues since I can remember. Perfumes and hair spray nearly did me in as a kid. Watching tv as a kid irritated my eyes...which was probably a good thing. Kept me outside and getting into trouble instead of inside and getting into trouble.

In the last ten or so years, my eyes have gotten much worse. I have tried drops and lubes of all kinds. What I think works for a bit turns out to not work at all. I am happiest...my eyes are happiest.. working outside. I have a humidifier for my house in the winter and I have vents turned in directions so I get no direct air. works pretty well. Also no AC in the summer. AC is very hard on me.

Actually I have found the best thing for my eyes seems to be intense physical exercise. Maybe it is the sweat or something....but a good workout...usually working on my house, laying and cuttingn stone, constructing an addition, new roof.....stuff like that works like a charm. Short term though...within a day or two, they are back to terribly dry...2 or less on the shirmer test.

I am really considering finding a property on some small caribbean island. The weather there is fantastic for my eyes. Lots of humidity and wicked good scenery.....great hiking and fishing areas too.

Well, I rambled enough. It is very nice to finally find a place where people understand this condition. A very hard condition to understand....not like a broken leg, stitched up head or something readilly seen to others.

So there is my intro. If anyone has any great suggestions or non-traditional methods that make life easier or just wants to say hhi, I'd love to hear from you.

First, Welcome!

Second, Happy Holiday season to you!