Struggling to cope

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Struggling to cope

I’ve cried more today than I think I ever have, every time I think about how this has happened and what it means I just get so sad.
    Dry eyes has been a bit of a problem for a while and I guess I have been using drops for about 6 months now, but things have only been bad for the past 3 months.

I had lipiflow done almost 4 weeks ago now and I think my eyes might be burning less.
    I was told it was MGD and not aqueous related, but having done my on schrimer test I only reached 3mm. So now I’m scared it’s both as I was originally told it was due to blocked glands that should be able to be unblocked and I should feel better. I think I do feel a bit better but still not good.

I havent left my house much over the last couple of months. Sometimes I’ll start to feel a bit more positive and I’ll go out for a walk or to the shops, only for the air outside to play havoc with my eyes, then I’m left feeling really depressed because I don’t even seem to be able to leave my house.

My eyes don’t look too bad in the morning, but as it gets to later in the evening my eyes become bloodshot and I look as if I’ve been crying. This evening I had a brief period of feeling a little better, however when I looked in the mirror my eyes just looked so blood shot and sad that it made me cry all over again.

Im 28 years old and I just feel like I’ve ruined everything for myself. I don’t feel like I can go outside and enjoy things, I was meant to be going back to Asia shortly and now I don’t think that’s going to happen. I can’t go and do any of the things I enjoy and I can’t look in the mirror without crying.

I just dont know where I go from here, I feel so completely lost and lonely. I haven’t socalised for a few months and my boyfriend (who is long distance anyway) says he is really struggling to cope with how I am and doesn’t know what to do.