my story

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• my story

hello to everyone. this is my first time to post.

first of all, i would like to say thanks so much to the creators of this website. it's such a tremendous resource. tonight, as i've browsed the site for the first time, it feels like i'm much closer to finding some relief for this thing.

my hope is that in sharing what's happened to me, you might be able to offer some insight or new approaches to try. so here goes...

about 7 weeks ago, i woke up with a tension headache behind my eyes and in my temples. my eyes felt swollen, extremely sore, and dried-out.

i have tmj disorder which causes me to clench my teeth at night. i thought possibly that i could have actually strained the muscles in my eyes as i slept.

it was an extreme sudden onset. i've never had headaches before in my life. but since that day, i've had a non-stop tension headache of moderate degree.

the pain got a little worse behind my eyes during the first week. i was nauseated while driving a couple of times. as my eyes continued to hurt and didn't get better, i became concerned that something serious had happened to my eyes...or perhaps even a tumor. i could tell that there was inflammation behind my eyes, in my jaw, and my temples.

i made an appointment with an opthamalogist who basically told me that my eyes were in fine shape but that i had a dry eye syndrome of some sort. he gave me 'systane free' and told me to come see him in 2 weeks. during that time, i used systane pretty consistently.

as i used the drops, i really began to notice that my eyes were almost crying out for moisture. immediate relief came as i put drops in my eyes. but the most disconcerting thing about what has happened to me is that the drops felt like they were evaporating out of my eyes in seconds, literally. i tried other drops like 'theratears' but the water-based artificial tears seemed to evaporate even more quickly.