Looking forward

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking forward

I was diagnosed with Sjogren's Syndrome about 2 1/2 years ago. Since then I have spent much of that time with recurring corneal erosions, which means many trips to the eye dr. and expense for bandaid contacts and meds I would rather not have. Last week I finally had PTK done on my left eye and right eye scheduled in 2 weeks. Tho I will still have dry eyes, hopefully this will eliminate the recurring corneal erosions which are a very painful thing to go thru. They told me this was the definitive treatment and rarely has to be repeated. Lets hope this is true!

Dody, as the owner of 7 year post-lasik eyes (including RCE), EBMD etc, I was also recently diagnosed with Sjogrens Disease. My eyes have been dry since the lasik surgery.

I would question the PTK for someone with Sjogrens. I'm not a doctor, you understand, but we do not heal like other people having eye surgery. I hope this (PTK) is a help to you. I would get a second opinion before having the second eye done!

Does this ophthalmologist know you have Sjogrens? I wonder if they would do lasik on a Sjogrens patient? Not a good idea. Please be careful.
    Lucy
    Don't trust any refractive surgeon with YOUR eyes.

The Dry Eye Queen

Comment

Welcome Dody! Good luck with the PTK... fingers crossed for good healing. Keep us posted please!
      Rebecca Petris
      The Dry Eye Foundation
      dryeyefoundation.org
      800-484-0244

Comment

Welcome Dody!