Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New laser surgery techniques that does NOT cause dry eye?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New laser surgery techniques that does NOT cause dry eye?

I am 36 years old and have severe dry eye from pingueculas in my eyes and abusing contact lens wear. Needless to say I cannot put a contact in my eye without it sticking to my eyeball. I have been wearing glasses full time for 2 years now because of this and it is starting to ruin my self esteem/self image. I feel as if the glasses are really taking away from my looks (vein, I know and I am sorry) I want to be able to enjoy the remaining, limited years of my youth and looks without having to wear glasses.
    Are there any new laser procedures that do not cause dry eye, and would I even be a candidate to begin with because of my existing dry eye problem? Are there any other solutions? I feel chained down to my glasses and I am not liking it.

Originally posted by Leesaw73 View Post
    I am 36 years old and have severe dry eye from pingueculas in my eyes and abusing contact lens wear. Needless to say I cannot put a contact in my eye without it sticking to my eyeball.
    With the severity of your condition I think that you are unlikely to be a decent candidate for any elective corneal surgery. A word of caution: It is almost always possible to find a doctor who will assure you that you are a good candidate, but that doesn't make you one. I've known people with quite severe dry eye being told they were 'good candidates' but frankly that's when the main criterion is a valid credit card.

In my opinion, there is and will not be in the foreseeable future any corneal laser procedure which does not carry noteworthy risk of dry eye even in a healthy cornea. As to non-laser procedures, there's lens implants. Those carry their own unique set of risks as a rather more invasive procedure and you'd have to talk to a doctor to learn more.