This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• the pill and dry eye....Progesterone

Ive been given the pill with progesterone only to regulate periods. Im wondering since this isnt oestrogen, would it be safer to use for dry eye?
    I healed my dry eye with nutrition and detoxification. I'm now a Nutritional Therapist at: www.nourishbalanceheal.com Join my dry eye facebook group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/420821978111328/

I'm wondering the same thing. i've been considering using Mirena, which is an IUD that is Progesterine only. I tried looking this up on the net, but couldn't find anything conclusive. My gyn says it is better for the dry eyes, and she says it is better than estrogen for rosacea. I have become such a skeptic when it comes to systemic medications and what doctors say. It would be good to hear feedback from people that use these pills and/or devices.

Comment

I use the lowest dose estrogen pill. The type I use is lowette, 20mcg ethinylestradiol, 0.10mg levonorgestrel

no side affects that I know about, have been tempted to go back up to Yasmin (?) because I do get spots still, but I'm going to go to a dematologist first. I'd prefer not to go to a higher dose, have been very happy with the low one but if I get diagnosed with rosacea maybe it would help me, I don't know... Interested too on other thoughts.
      just keep swimming...

Comment

Yes im very sceptical as well when doctors say things adont effect dry eye etc.

I was told that before going on anti depressants.. and look where i am now!
        I know i had the prob so i cant blame the antid's (it mite have been the ortho k lenses anyway). Just wish id stayed away from drugs when i was otherwise healthy, except for depression.