Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• blepharitis

Hi!

I have seborrheic dermatitis and seborrheic blepharitis, so my skin on face and eyelids are produsing waay to much sebum (oil). If I close my eyes for 15 min, I have oil debri on eye lashes, and after 8 hours sleep, well, that's just extrem!

So I know what to do when the meibomian glands in eyes are produsing to little or no sebum, or the glands are blocked. But what should I do since my eyes are produsing way to much oil? It's an never ending cicle, I wipe it off, then more comes out. I use the ocusoft eye lid cleanser, but the oil just keep coming..

So any ideas?

Thanx, RS
    The cure: be open minded

Im not a doctor but im curious to know that if you could control oil production from your face would it help your eye symptoms? Just a thought. Surely there are plenty of face products to stop the oil prduction

Comment

Peepers - no, no way to "stop the oil production" except for accutane which is what may have caused severely dry eyes for many of us on here. You can make sure to gently cleanse and not use stripping or harsh cleansers which can cause re-bound oiliness. Blotting papers can help absorb surface oil and work very well for the face. It's a great idea though and I'd be first in line to pay whatever it cost if there was a safe way to stop oil production. (I've been cursed with it my entire life and have been to countless derms over the past 25 years to try to control it. Your theory is the same as the one that says you can help ocular rosacea by taking care of the facial symptoms but that too is not true for everyone unfortunately.) There is one other drug that's used off-label to stop sebum production (spironolactone/aldactone) but my docs said "no way - it will make your eyes drier then they already are".

redandsenstivie - no ideas on how to stop the eyes from producing so much oil - will be interested in what others have to say.