This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What is the Systemic Root Cause?

Hi, i'm a newbie and i'm sure this is an old question, but as an engineer and scientifically inclined person, there has to be a systemic issue here.

I have ATD and no MGD. As the ophthalmologist stated, "It's inflammation that is causing your lacrimal gland to produce less tears". Fine. What causes the inflammation? I'm racking my brain here. It's cause and effect, so which is the cause?

Exposed eye to elements inflames the eye because of low amount of tears. The environment can't be the root cause. It is definitely a catalyst but not the root cause. Wind and light didn't bother me before but now it does due to this damned lacrimal gland decreasing performance.

Is it diet?
    Is it because I'm very allergic to dust and grass?

I used to get very sick all the time like I was dying before allergy shots. After shots I felt amazing. Now I stopped shots earlier this year and have developed this inflammation 3+ months after stopping. Am I foolish in thinking/hoping that the root cause is my body's reaction to allergens like dust now?

Has ANYONE here taken shots and alleviated most of their dry eye symptoms?
    Are you ATD or MGD or both? Does it make a difference which form of dry eye you have when it comes to allergy or is it just a general case of inflammation, regardless of which one?

Again, I apologize if I'm ignorant about it but this is maddening. I wish I was a billionaire to pump money into researching this damned issue.

Just to recap: I have had NO LASIK, NO changes in my life, no meds, no nothing... Only change was stopping shots and this inflammation ensued months after in what seems like a weeks time. Like "that" it was nearly overnight.

I'd like to know as well. I'm confused also because it seems like there is a chicken and egg question here at least with aqueous deficiency/inflammation.

Is it: