Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Anyone have allergies to Preservative Free Lubricant drops? And relation to eczema?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone have allergies to Preservative Free Lubricant drops? And relation to eczema?

I've been using Preservative Free lubricant eye drops for the past 6 months, mainly hypromellose based or carboxy methylcellulose (plus its variants, i.e., methylcellulose, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose etc).

As of the past week, I have developed eczema around one eye and to find the triggers, have slowly discontinued anything new started. The eczema has gone down with the use of topical prescription creams but not completely gone.

I have also noticed that at times (not always) when i use the lubricant vials, my eye starts itching a little, may go red or has a foreign body sensation. The artelac vials now start to burn the eyes.

Is it safe to assume its an allergic reaction / intolerance to the ingredients within the vials? My doctor thinks its unusual since it is PF. Does anyone else have this issue?

Could this possibly also cause the eczema?

It is not just the preservative that can makes things worse. You may have sensitivity to some chemical in the eye drop.

None lubricants eye drops or gels I have tried so far make good to my eyes, even the preservative free.

Comment

From what i have read sensitivity / allergy to hypromellose based or carboxy methylcellulose (plus its variants, i.e., methylcellulose, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose etc). drops is not uncommon. It's something I suspect I have as well. The trick is figuring this out as you may well be perpetuating your issues by the drops that you would be led to believe will be of some benefit. So, switch drops to a different formulation, such as systane or Sodium hyd, or even plain sterile water, to see if things improve.

Comment