This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Explaining Dry Eye to people

I am new to Dry Eye Zone, pardon me if this question has been discussed already.

The people who are close to me don't seem to understand what this is. How could you if you've never experienced it? The name "dry eye syndrome" doesn't explain a lot either, because everyone has had at least mildly dry eyes at some point in their lives. To me, the name "dry eye syndrome" is like using the phrase "difference of opinion" to describe a knife fight. It doesn't sound like anything that would be a big deal or burdensome. I think the name is misleading.

There are people who I keep in touch with, but on a less regular basis, like old friends I might owe a call to or vice versa, whom I am loath to explain this to eventually. I think if I didn't have dry eye syndrome, I would have thought "so what" if someone told me they had dry eyes. I would have acted sympathetic, but inside I'd be thinking "what's the big deal, your eyes are dry?" It aggravates me because it is not easy to explain to people.

Also, there is someone particularly close to me who was diagnosed with "dry eye syndrome" a while back. This person even takes Restasis. But when I describe my symptoms, she has no understanding of these things. Basically, she must have an extremely mild form of dry eyes. This aggravates me for two reasons:

1) This person with "extremely mild dry eye" is harder to talk to than people whose eyes are 100% fine. The extremely mild dry eye person will often give me advice, whereas other people I know has been like "wow, that sucks man" (which is basically the only support I really need, just acknowledgment that my eyes hurt). The extremely mild dry eye person doesn't really know what I'm going through, but will answer me as if she does. I like it better when talking to people who make no pretense about knowing what dry eyes are like.