This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need to understand dry eye cause vs. cornea healing w/serum drops

Hi All - I'm a bit confused as I am new to having dry eye. I am post-LASIK 8 years. I see a new doc on Thursday next week. My question is, I think I need to understand why I have dry eye. I know the LASIK started this, but from what I understand, there are a possible number of things that are causing the dry eye (Lacrimal gland Deficiency, Meibomian gland dysfunction (MGD, blepharitis) Erosions (RCE, ABMD), etc.). I need to know what that is. I also need to know my TBUT (if I have evaporative eye) and Schirmer scores.

I can't tolerate Restasis which targets the inflamation, and I've read a number of people have success with the autologous serum drops. But don't the serum drops just heal the cornea and don't help with the cause of the dry eye?

I'd like to understand how it works. I think the serum drops helps the occular surface heal because it is it's not getting properly lubricated due to MGD, SS, TBUT, etc.? Seems like serum drops alone just treat the symptoms?

Here are the questions I plan to ask my new doctor:

Do I have Aqueous (lacrimal gland Deficiency)
    Do I have Meibomian gland dysfunction (MGD, blepharitis) NOTE: Warm compresses really help me so I think this may be an issue.
    Do I have Erosions (RCE, ABMD)
    Do I have Lagophthalmos (incomplete eyelid closure)
    What is my tear break up time (TBUT) or evaporation?
    What are my schirmer scores?
    Do I have inflamation?
    Do I have Sjorgens syndrome
    Do I have trigeminal neuralgia/ corneal neuropathy

Thanks in advance for any help or input.

RE: Questions for ophthalmologist

Rebecca has a list of questions that are good to ask your doctor every visit:

1) How is my tear quantity?
    2) Do you see any dry spots?
    3) Can you check for staining?