Serum eye drops irritate my eyes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Serum eye drops irritate my eyes

I am really perplexed and dismayed by the fact that serum eye drops not only don't work for me, they make my eyes worse. I first tried them several years ago. I had extremely high hopes that they were what I was looking for after all I read about them, however, that hope soon turned into big disappointment when I tried using them and the outer parts of my eyes started burning. I tried to stick with it for awhile but eventually had no choice but to give up on them. It was honestly a huge relief not to be dealing with them anymore. However, more recently the dry eyes have worsened and I have started having a lot of trouble keeping up at work (I write software for a living, and am only 34). Earlier this year I tried Scleral Lenses, but I did not have much luck with those either. However, in trying those I found that my eyes could not tolerate the saline at all. Given that, I asked my doctor about trying 100% serum eye drops instead of the saline diluted drops, and he agreed. I again had high hopes, but I could tell immediately after putting them in the first time that it had the same problem. Sometimes they feel tolerable enough that I want to try to keep using them to see if I adjust, but after several days using it 4x daily, I have started getting mega eyestrain from it that keeps me from doing almost anything. It is beyond frustrating and distressing seeing that so many people find them to be so great for them, yet they just make my eyes worse. Has anybody heard of anything like this because I cannot find anything like it?