Making my own serum tears

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Making my own serum tears

My name is Gina and I've been suffering from dry eyes and pain (in my right eye only) post-LASIK. It's been about 6 months.

I decided to start making my own serum tears. I'm a medical student with years of experience working in research labs, so hopefully I'll know what I'm doing. I found instructions on the web to isolate serum from whole blood. I've bought the necessary equipment (centrifuge, needles, tubes, etc) online. I'll have another med school friend draw my blood (this is how we practice anyway lol)

http://www.proimmune.com/ecommerce/pdf_files/PR31.pdf

My plan is to start with 25% serum and work my way up to 100% necessary.

If you are currently on serum tears, I have questions:
    1) How do you store your tears? Does it have to be refrigerated? How about if you are outside and have no access to refrigerators?
    2) Do you need to be on antibiotics while you're on serum tears?

My current regimen:
    Restasis 2x day, Freshkote 2x day
    Omega 3 supplements

Thanks,

Gina

I get my serum in 3ml bottles. The bottle currently in use is stored in the refrigerator. The remaining bottles are stored in my deepfreezer (temps there are colder than the freezer attached to my fridge).

Cold storage is crucial since a) that slows the breakdown of the "active ingredients" of the serum and b) it slows microbial growth in the event that you accidentally contaminate your bottle of serum

I get mine in 3ml bottles so that each bottle is used up within 4 days or so - that's a threshold that I'm comfortable with in terms of risk of bacterial contamination. Mind are sterile when I receive them from the pharmacy since they transfer the serum to the eyedropper bottles in a sterile laminar flow hood - the only way bacteria will get in there is if I contaminate them myself, or bacteria drift over in an air current onto the dropper tip etc.