Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Make your very own glasses, poor person style.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Make your very own glasses, poor person style.

Another post asked how to make one's own wind-blocking glasses, so I decided I'd post a little 'how to" on making non-prescription tinted or un-tinted glasses without special knowledge, equipment, or a heavy cost- no visits to home depot, plastic stores, nothin'.

Note, I'm not a doctor or a magician or anything else- I cannot vouch that these glasses will be the right choice for YOU, just that they personally work for me. Don't sue.

What I used:

-My grey-green 1% NoIR sunglasses, with the #35 wrap around frame
    (http://noir-medical.com/catalog.htm)

-Tranquileyes unlined foam
    (dry eye shop)

What it cost:

My sunglasses were 58$- while I strongly, strongly recommend ordering the same frame, I don't suggest my particular lens unless you have very severe photophobia- it filters all but 1% of visible light. Not to mention, other lenses are cheaper. Most you will find that aren't especially dark will be around 30$- the 16% amber, a good pick, is 25$. Keep in mind, everything listed on the site doesn't calculate the 25% discount the rep is going to give you at purchase.

My foam was 7$- I've tried all sorts of foams and plastics and magics, but I find this one to be the best suggestion simply because it is pre-cut, stretchy enough to sit on most frames, and doesn't require getting down and dirty with the gluing- plus, it's comfy. That said, if you're adventurous and find that this isn't really the 'right' one for you, try googling around for 'marshall protocol' patients- those folks know their sunglasses, and often offer adventurous tips on preventing light leaks (if it doesn't leak light, it aint leaking air either)