X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Part One: Our Dry Eye Clinic Evaporative Dry Eye Education and Evaluation

Good Day Everyone

I've recently been posting about my practices experience with Evaporative Dry Eye/Meibomain gland dysfunction and use of the LipiFlow system, and I have received multiple questions.

I'm going to post two large posts that should provide most answers as to our experience with the system, the patient experience at our dry eye evaluation, and some education on expectations, outcomes, results, and post operative treatment. So grab a hot drink, and get ready to read

A brief history: I have been battling dry eye on a personal level for over eight years. It was around my sophomore year of college that I began to notice waking up in the morning with dry, red, eyes. I didn't think too much of it at the time, and thought using one of the over the counter "get the red out" drops would fix the problem, and started using those 4-5 times a day (not a good idea). My eyes soon became even MORE red. After stopping this drop, things got a little better, but every evening around 6:00 pm, my eyes would have a pinkish/red color, and every morning when I woke up, it felt as if someone had rubbed sandpaper across my eyes.

Over the last few years, I had tried almost every pharmaceutical, natural, or home remedy dry eye treatment I could find online.

Below is a list of what I had tried
    -Artificial Tears Drops (often 10-12 x day with no relief)
    -Lubricating Gels at bedtime
    -Steroid drops
    -Restasis
    -Warm compress with a hot washcloth and the rice-in-the-sock method
    -Lid scrubs
    -Fish Oil (3000 mg of triglyceride form)
    -Castor Oil (this is part of the liquid vehicle in Restasis. Just leaves a sticky mess)
    -Moisture Goggles
    -Taping lids shut while sleeping
    -Punctal Plugs