This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• dental anesthetics and dry eye symptoms

Has anyone experienced temporary increase in symptoms after having dental work done?

I've had two fairly big jobs done in the last 2 weeks and my eyes definitely feel drier and grittier. I know dental work can affect the sinuses, so I wonder if it can also affect our eyes?

any experiences to share?

Uuugh...Your timing couldn't be any more perfect for me. I'm going for a filling tomorrow!!

I'm not a doctor, but I think it's probably just a coincidence.

However, I'll report back tomorrow after my "jackhammering" and let you know if I notice any noticeable deviation from my usual symptoms.

Comment

I am a nurse, not a doctor. I do have enough knowledge to toss a theory out there. Sometimes dentists add epinephrine with the Lidocaine when administering dental anesthesia. Epinephrine is a vasoconstrictor, which narrows your blood vessels and helps the anesthetic's effect last longer. Epinephrine is also found in some eye drops used to treat glaucoma. Those drops reduce the amount of fluid inside of the eye. A side effect of epinephrine on the eye is a burning sensation. One could conclude that enough of the epinephrine could get into the tissues to cause some dry eye side effects. For me, I always notice increased dryness after a trip to the dentist. I always attributed it to not being able to use drops as often and the fans blowing on me. I never really thought about the epinephrine. Many of my visits don't involve anesthesia. You can ask your dentist not to use epinephrine or other vasoconstrictor and see if there is a difference as compared to when you were administered an anesthetic with it. I know that some people experience a racing heart from the epinephrine and for that reason they ask not to be administered the drug.
      Every day with DES is like a box of chocolates...You never know what you're going to get.

Comment