This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What else is there?

Just wondering......I've been on Restasis (2x per day) for about 2 years now, punctal plugs in both eyes, do rice bag compresses 3x per day, lid scrubs w/ ocusoft 2x per day, flaxseed oil, sleep w/ eye mask, and use Systane drops all day at least once an hour. My eyes are still uncomfortable most of the time, they water outside if it's cold or windy, looking at computer screen makes them sting if longer than 30 min (I'm a web developer to boot),. What else is out there? I go to my eye dr every 3 months and he hasn't come up w/ anything new to try for at least a year now. I don't have any other conditions (allergies, rosacea, etc.) it's just I don't produce enough tears (8 on the Schirmer in one eye and 14 in the other) and the ones I do have evaporate too quickly (7 on the TBUT). I have tried Lacriserts (couldn't ever put them in either w/ the inserter or my finger tip and it took my eye dr 20 minutes to actually get one into my eye so I could try it). What other drops are there? (besides the OTC genteal, Dwelle etc I've tried all of them) I don't have any corneal erosions or anything. Am I a candidate for a scheleral (sp) lens?

Some other things that i have tried, none of which have helped that much but may be worth trying ( i really am at the end of options now, i have inflamed inner eyelids which will not be helped by ANYTHING!)....

Try to get a rx for progesterone cream made up at lieters pharmacy.
    Azasite.. for mgd, bleptheritis.
    doxy.
    scerals.. you wont know if your candidate until you try them. If you have a half decent tear film you will be able to handle them better, so i wouldnt rule them out if your not severe.
    Not a fan of A tears as they are useless for me, but best ive tried are clinicas but its not saying much.