Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

can restasis help hormonal induced dry eye?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• can restasis help hormonal induced dry eye?

i am 42 years old and suddenly have really dry eye. am starting restasis today and is wondering if anyone has success from restasis on dry eye induced by menopause/hormons? i am suffering badly both physically and mentally and is hopeful that restasis may be the thing for me. thanks in advance, chris

Hormones

Hi 'Pain...'

I'm no expert, but I would think that 'yes' Restasis ~ MIGHT ~ help. I have autoimmune disease so that's the source or the major contributor to my dry eyes, but I do notice that close to my period my eyes get exceptionally drier -- I guess as a reaction to the estrogen drop.

I tried Restasis, and it did work for me -- it doesn't for everybody -- however I stopped using it because at the time it was a new drug and I worried about long term safety. ie; think Vioxx

I take a lot of supplements anyway, so I decided that instead of Restasis I would work on a "nutritional" approach. I increased the amount of fish oil I was taking... I added green tea and olive leaf extracts ... --- ones that are reported to work on inflammation and autoimmune issues... and other supplements. Not everyone wants to do this, but so far this is working for me -- I rarely use eye drops, except around my period. BTW: I'm 53 -- so I know all about this 'hormone adventure' that we're going through.

Important Note: I treat my supplements like they are medicine and my doctors are aware of all the supplements that I take.

I did see a couple of articles about how DHEA has helped those with Sjogren's -- an autoimmune disease. And I also saw an article about using testosterone and/or progesterone cream -- and it helped the dry eyes. I've not tried any of these however, so I can't share any first hand experiences.