Forgive my indelicacy!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Forgive my indelicacy!

As I previously mentioned in an earlier post my dry eye has recently returned. Over the last couple of years, including now, one of the recurring side effects which seem to herald the onset of sore eyes is the need to pee more frequently! I know it sounds strange but it is definitely connected. Just to get it straight this is definitely a side effect of the dry eye not the other way round i.e. not the effects of dehydration. I am a firefighter so have a good understanding of when I am dehydrated and this is not the case when these episodes occur. Just wondered if anyone else had noticed this?

Barry

I don't know about frequent urination as being a side-effect of dry eye, It could be one of the causes. you know the kidney's are what clean the blood, and pull the waste out of the blood stream, the kidneys also maintain fluid and electrolyte balance(minerals and vitamins).

maybe their is a connection.

good luck

rhad

Comment

Diabetes?

Isn't an early sign of Diabetes peeing a lot? Diabetes can also affect the eyes.
      Occupation - Optimistologist

Comment

Diuretics, Diabetics

Hi Hangus,

Nice to see you again but sorry to see you back here. Brd is absolutely right. Urinating a lot is definately a symptom of diabetes, so if you haven't already done so, get a blood test and, hopefully, rule that out.

In my case, I have type-2 diabetes (non insulin-dependent) completely under control with diet, however controlling the diabetes has not helped my dry eye...that's not the cause of my dry eye. But we're all different and in your case, if you do have diabetes, it could be related. Are you also thirsty a lot? Usually, with diabetes,in addition to peeing a lot, you are also thirsty a lot. By the way, if you do have it, once you get it under control, the peeing and the thirstiness go away.