This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Long term use of doxy

I have been using doxycycline for about 16 months. I am getting really nervous about the long term use of an antibiotic. Presciption drugs aren't my style, but desperate times call for desperate measures. I have been suffering from dry eyes for over two years now, as a result of PRK. I had a pretty decent summer and felt like I took a lot of steps in getting my life back. Recently (since the beginning of September), however, I feel like I have been really, really struggling again. I am certainly not as depressed as I was, but just down. And, gosh darn it, my eyes hurt like hell.

I have made a couple of changes that may be contributing to the change in comfort level -
    1. in July I went off of birth control hoping that it would help my dryness
    2. About two-three weeks ago I stopped taking Gabapentin (neurontin). I have been taking this pain medication for about a year. I went off of it because I felt like I had truley improved enought to not be on it, but I am really experiencing an increased level in pain, pain that I refer to as my nerve pain. I have lots of different symptoms, but it seems like I don't have the sore, aching, raw pain as much when I am on the Gabapentin.

Sometimes it is so difficult to determine what helps and what doesn't and I guess I am frustrated.

I really don't like being on all of these prescription medications.

I am having tummy troubles which is why I want to go off the anti-biotic, but I hate to change yet another treatment.

Your thoughts are helpful!

Thanks,

MDE

Originally posted by MyDryEyes View Post