Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Do you try stopping ALL eye drops to check progress ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do you try stopping ALL eye drops to check progress ?

Yesterday I stopped all eye drops and my eyes are fine. ... normal acuity, no pooling, no tearing, so symptoms. Makes me wonder if I was creating a problem by regular use of drops.

So how many of you stop all drops to see if you're better or normal ?

tried somewhat

Yes though I am new to this, I did try stopping the Restasis at least, I found that my extreme dryness returned pretty quickly, was confussed because I would have good and bad days, shortly after beging it. and wanted to see myself If the drops were doing anything or not. I have comitted to using them now, and I'm faithfully using them morning and night, tho my eyes are still not producing adequate tears, I do feel better, dispite the side effects of burnig that accompanies the Restasis. I find that I use less of the artificial tears, now. I wasn't using any drops when my eyes went bad.

Comment

Stopping drops briefly might be appropriate for some but certainly not most people with dry eye. It depends on the type of dryness and the severity. People who are severely aqueous deficient can't safely stop lubricating their eyes.
      Last edited by Rebecca Petris; 30-Mar-2011, 06:56. Reason: Clarification
      Rebecca Petris
      The Dry Eye Foundation
      dryeyefoundation.org
      800-484-0244

Comment

Originally posted by Rebecca Petris View Post
        Stopping drops is appropriate for some but certainly not all people. It depends on the type of dryness and the severity. People who are severely aqueous deficient can't safely stop lubricating their eyes.

Really ? What are the consequences of brief cessation until symptomatic ?

Comment