Restasis

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Restasis

Hey all! I'm new to this dry eye thing and had a quick question for anyone that can answer it. I had the LASIK procedure done in early June of 2005 and for whatever reason have gotten some bad dry eye this winter... maybe because it has been so cold and dry. I live in Nebraska so you can only imagine.

When I went to an eye doctor about dry eye a few months ago he told me that if I began to have chronic dry eye and eye drops didn't seem to work for me that we could try restasis, however he was reluctant to get me started on it because he said that once I started it that I would be on it for the rest of my life. I believe, because he thought that my eyes would be dependant on it from the moment I began using it.

In looking through some of the posts, I've seen people talk about how they were on it for awhile and then decided to keep with it or not use it anymore. So, did my eye doctor lie to me? Just curious. Thanks!

Arcelus

Arcelus,

Where do you live? I am also from Nebraska. I currently live in Lincoln, NE and see a doctor in Omaha, NE. Do you like your eye doctor? If not, I could possibly suggest a good doctor.

I think that many people stop using Restasis because it is either not working for them or the side effects outweigh any possible benefits. But, your doctor is correct, if you stop using the Restasis you will take steps backwards. I have been using Restasis for about 10 months, and it has really helped me. I am by no means symptom-free, but I am much better. I had some burning and redness from the Restasis, but those side effects went away after about five or six months.

What type of dry eye do you have? Do you just have a deficiency in tears or do you have evaporative dry eye? Have you tried plugs?

Comment

Restasis

Hey, Julie!