Antioxidant/antifungal eye drops

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Antioxidant/antifungal eye drops

Hi - I'm a new member with ocular rosacea. I've been using Restasis for a few years and have just barely been able to avoid taking oral antibiotics. I have a new nutritionist who is recommending I try Viva eye drops because they have antioxidants in them. I am having trouble finding good information about them, and suspect there might be other, better products with antioxidants. I am also trying to see if there is any drop with an anti-yeast function - I have a yeast overgrowth problem elsewhere, and suspect that could be interfering with the healing of my eyes, too. Any ideas?

Thanks!

Deb

Hey Deb,

I think you might be right on with your assumption. I have heard on a few occasions that ocular rosacea and blepharitis can foaster different types of plagues, yeast being two of them. Dr. Latkany supported seb derm and ocular rosacea as the same/similar things. And seb derm is yeast related I think.

To my knowledge there are no opthalogical agents that are anti-fungal but there are some alternatives that I've researched and would like to try myself. Tea tree oil is suppose to be a good anti-fungal/antiseptic. Oral anti-fungals (itra-something) have been shown effective in some off label subjects for seb blepharitis. And there are some topical dermalogical ointments that have been used on the orbital area with good results. The one I am thinking of is the same compound as the oral agent.

BTW I tried to get some oral anti-fungals and to no avail. The doctors don't like to come off of them it seems.

I use metrogel on the lids sometimes and feel a great deal of relief. Probably the single best treatment, besides a super low gi diet/bad fat diet that has helped me. But alot of doctors advise agaisnt it. The topicals might damage the eye or comprise the tear film.