X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lacriserts

I first heard about Lacriserts from a woman who has been wearing them for
    over 20 years. She has sojerns.
    I have been using Lacriserts for three years now. I received a prescription for them from my Family doctor since my optometrist
    and ophthalmologist did not (would not) recommend them. (they are in total denial ) When I first started using them 3 years ago, they were hard to get and the
    manufacturer limited how many I could receive a month. But, now I have no
    trouble getting them and can get as many as I need. Sometimes I will use 2
    to 3 pair a day depending on what I am doing and the weather conditions. If
    I use my computer a lot I will need to put in a new pair as soon as I get
    home from work. If you keep them in too long ( 12 to 14 hours) they will
    get a bit gooey and uncomfortable. It takes a little trial and error. I
    remember reading a post on the surgicaleyes board saying how someone had
    tried them and did not like them because they tried to let the
    lacrisert dissolve totally in their eye. I can understand why they were
    disappointed. You do not want to let them in that long. A person needs to
    take them out before bedtime. Lacriserts have helped me so much. I no longer need to put gel in at night or wear a sleep mask.

What are lacriserts?

Comment

See the Encyclopedia page on lacriserts here.

It's a methylcellulose pellet sort of thing placed in the eyelid and dissolves over time.
      Rebecca Petris
      The Dry Eye Foundation
      dryeyefoundation.org
      800-484-0244

Comment

Lacriserts

There is not much to be found on Lacriserts. I happen to still have my box from 1/11/01. I remember they were hard to get as FaithHope said.

I'm curious if you read this, FaithHope, how long you leave the Lacrisert in the eye?

http://www.pharmacyhealth.net/d/lacrisert-1367.htm
        Don't trust any refractive surgeon with YOUR eyes.