Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• plugs lasted 2 days @$#^*(

Newbie here (wave)
    I just had plugs put in that only lasted 2 days!
    I went back to the Dr and was told I would have to pay again!
    Anyone else have this problem?
    They were wonderful for the 2 days I had them and I knew they were out because the dryness was back. I paid $500.00 per plu so I'm very ticked.

So sorry to hear about the loss of the plugs. What kind were they? If they are the type that protrude from the punctum, it might be that your doctor did not use the right size.
    Every day with DES is like a box of chocolates...You never know what you're going to get.

Comment

Unfortunately I don't know what type they were.
      I'm trying to get in touch with the administrator to erase the fee for the plugs. If I ever hear from her I'll ask
      What really ticks me off is I got them put in at the Jules Stein Eye Inst. I expected better.

Comment

Hypogal, I just want to confirm. Were these temporary or permanent plugs? The temporary ones might only give about two days of relief (mine did).
        Every day with DES is like a box of chocolates...You never know what you're going to get.

Comment

Well, right before they were inserted I asked about how long they should last and I was told "at least six months, probably longer".

Comment

Thanks. You had semi-permanent plugs. When I got my temporary plugs (the one week ones), one fell out as soon as I got to the car. The 7 day and the 6 month ones are designed similarly. They do come out if not put in deep enough. I certainly would ask for complimentary replacements. They should not be gone in two days if they were inserted properly.

Comment