Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Am I the only one who hates these plugs?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Am I the only one who hates these plugs?

Punctal plugs were put in last week, but already one has fallen out and the other one I want taken out right away! They're itchy and scratchy. Everyone seems to love these plugs except for me! Anyone else feel like I do?

I can't tell you how important it is to properly fitted for plugs. Even measuring one side does not insure you are properly fitted, 30% of patients have different size puncta.

Also, even with proper sizing the anatomy of your lids and globe can cause the plugs to be uncomfortable. In some instances regular visits to have long term dissolvable intracanalicual plugs or permanent intracanalicular plugs might be options.

Comment

I'm no expert, but I can tell you that even with intracanalicular plugs, I had an adjustment period. I was aware of the plugs for the first couple of weeks. They poked me and my eyes itched like crazy. Just when I was about to call the doc to have them flushed away, the irritation stopped. I suggest a call to your doctor if things don't seem to be getting any better.
      Every day with DES is like a box of chocolates...You never know what you're going to get.

Comment

Ive had various plugs put in about 4 times. They either fell out in stayed in but drove me nuts in the case of the enormous .9mm odysseys i had last time in my lowers. I have had .6mm oasis surface plugs in my lowers for three days now. At first i could really tell they were in there. Now i dont notice it near as much. I can tell if i turn my eyes so that my pupil is rubbing over the plug though, that doesnt feel very good. The right plug is worse than the other, i dont think its pushed in far enough.