Restasis Setback

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Restasis Setback

I've been using it successfully for about 2 years. About 3 months ago it stopped working. Has anyone else experienced this?...thanks

I don't know that it works for me anymore. It did once upon a time, 10 years ago or so, but my eyes have gotten worse. I continue to use it though because if it gives me any relief, even if it's imperceptible to me, then I don't want to risk losing that.

Comment

Thanks for the reply. What, if anything, gives you relief now?

Comment

Have either of you tried increasing the dose to 3-4 times a day?

Comment

Hi Faith..I've been on 3 times a day from the beginning.

Comment

I'm so happy to hear that some people can tolerate Restasis at all, I tried it 3 times, and had to quit because of the burning, that lasted and was not as they discribed "temporary". I wonder if like most drugs after some time they can lose their effectiveness? but I would think that a lot of people would be mentioning that it stops working. This is totally unrelated, but I had used minoxodil for hairloss for several years and it just stopped working, I have since found out that about 5 years is the lifespan of it working. So although it is a totally different drug for a different purpose, it was not information that was put out there for everyone to know. It would have made no difference for me, as I would have tried it anyways, but it is nice to know these things. I do hope that your trouble right now with Restasis seeming to not be working anymore, is just a temporary set back for you, or just a bad spell right now with your eyes.

Comment

Mawsky - Have you tried getting compounded "Restasis"? For a period, the regular stuff was burning so much that I switched to Leiter's and it really helped.