Why Did You Stop Restasis?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why Did You Stop Restasis?

Thinking of stopping it's use. I've been using it for more than 2 years, but don't know if it's doing anything anymore. It worked great for a long time, but think I may have built up an immunity to it. Wondering why others have stopped it's use..

I used it for a little more then 2 years and stopped exactly for the reasons you mention.

Comment

Originally posted by alisonW View Post
      I used it for a little more then 2 years and stopped exactly for the reasons you mention.
      Thanks Alison...are you better without it, or the same with or without? I fear if I stop things will get worse.

Comment

My eyes feel the same without it. It's been a few years now though since I stopped using it so they may have gotten worse, but not enough that I've noticed a huge difference.

Comment

Restasis was working moderately for me, however I noticed I was getting more ingrown eyelashes and noticed the longer lashes were growing crooked and longer. I never really thought it could be restasis, but in fact, there is some link that it could be according to the literature. Eventually this problem made putting my sclerals in a nuisance as awkward growing eyelashes sprung from behind my fingers and get caught under the scleral lens upon insertion. So I stopped using Restasis due to this problem. 12 months upon ceasing its use, my eyelashes have not normalized.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/22291642

Comment

Thanks...I never noticed my eyelashes much before, but now that you mentioned it I do have a few that are pretty long
            Originally posted by DCRdryeye View Post