Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Are antibiotic treatments available for Blepharitis in the UK?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Are antibiotic treatments available for Blepharitis in the UK?

I've had a doctor tell me that I have blepharitis, he instructed me to take eye drops and to keep my eyelids clean. Except I've been doing this for almost 2 years now with no improvement. Are there any antibiotic treatments available for Blepharitis in the UK? If you could give me some names and info about any such treatments I will suggest them next time I see my doctor to see if he will prescribe them for me.

Thanks for reading.

Hi Pete

Have you heard of of Fucithalmic? That's a possibility although it can irritate the eye if used for too long. It is a viscous eye drop that contains fusidic acid, an antibiotic medicine.

Antibiotic tablets such as Doxycycline or Erythromycin are worth mentioning.

Comment

Originally posted by irish eyes View Post
      Hi Pete

Have you heard of of Fucithalmic? That's a possibility although it can irritate the eye if used for too long. It is a viscous eye drop that contains fusidic acid, an antibiotic medicine.

Antibiotic tablets such as Doxycycline or Erythromycin are worth mentioning.
      Haven't heard of Fucithalmic. Sounds interesting - how does an eye drop help with blepharitis though, since it is an eyelid problem?

Not heard of Erythromycin either but I think my brother was given Doxycycline once, I can't rememeber what for but it wasn't eye related. How do these tablets work?

Is there no such treatment that involves some kind of anti-inflammatory cream that can be used on the eyelids? If not, there really should be!

Comment

Fucithalmic

Hi Pete

How does it work? (Taken from: http://www.goodhope.org.uk/Departmen...lepharitis.htm