Problem with PROSE after years of success

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problem with PROSE after years of success

I have had the PROSE lenses from Boston for 5 years now. I LOVED them....until this past year. Gradually I began experiencing the feeling that the lenses were drying out and I now find myself rewetting them up to 10 times daily. If I am unable to rewet them for a couple of hours, when I finally get the chance my eyes are done for the day.
    I recently got a new pair by visiting a doc in Houston, but sadly getting new ones did not change the recurring pain I am having. Has anyone else had this problem, and what did you do to resolve it? I am a teacher and will begin a new school year soon. I will not have time to be constantly be rewetting my lenses. Also hard to take care of more than 20 kindergarteners while having eye pain.
    I apologize for typing errors....hard to see and type on this I-pad. I really appreciate suggestions because I am beginning to get down about this.

Hi Elaine,

Did you get a really good exam in Houston (or wherever) to find out if something has changed with your eyes that needs addressing? Maybe check for increased dryness, MGD etc, then the lens specific possibilities like GPC?

Have you tried moisture chamber glasses over your PROSE? I would hope it would cut down on the frequency of needing to lubricate. Only a short-term solution really till you find out what's going on.

I'm a 6-year veteran of PROSE. I find that at times I need to take strategic breaks to prevent flare-ups. So another short-term thing, I wonder if you can possibly also cut down on lens use for a while and see what impact that has.
    Rebecca Petris
    The Dry Eye Foundation
    dryeyefoundation.org
    800-484-0244

Comment