This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2 weeks into sclerals...

I have my sclerals, they are supposed to mini, but according to what I have read, they might be considered corneal-they are 13.5 mm. Other than minor aggravation at times getting them in and/or out, I have to say that they are fabulous!!! I am a nurse that works 3-11 and I have an hour's drive home. I used to cry the entire time because I could not see, the lights hurt my eyes and I was afraid I would have a wreck eventually. I have been dealing with dry eyes for about 6 years, tried most drops, including 3 different attempts with Restasis, plugs, nothing worked. I finally found out about the sclerals from my opthamologist when he was treating me for a tear duct infection. Got my optometrist to fit me, the sample pair was the fit I needed and if I could have seen out of them (they were a random Rx) I would not have given them back! It was immediate relief!!!! They ordered my lenses, they came in less than a week, I even got insurance to pay the 1300+ $$ for them. I LOVE, LOVE them. I can drive at night and see for miles, clear as a bell. The only downside is that they are prescribed for distance and I need readers to see the or work on the computer. Well worth any inconvenience to have 15-18 hours of relief during the day. I can even go a day without them if I am lazing about the house and my eyes don't seem to get as dry.

So great!!! Keep us posted. Does wind /air bother you anymore? What's your dx?

Comment

The wind and air don't bother me at all! Thy only thing I have found is that with the heat on, the dry air makes me need some drops (I use Systane Ultra) maybe once or twice during an 8 hour shift. About the same time that I would use lip balm for dry lips.

Comment

What's your diagnosis?

Comment

Severe dry eye (?) Is there another type? The sclerals were recommended for the dry eyes by the opthamologist.

Comment