Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lasting Improvement

All,

I have been a bit scarce on this board, and for good reason. I have definitely improved and I can live with my new normal.

How do I know this? A doctor recently gave me some Xibrom, and it brought me right back to last year's horrors when I was extremely low. My right eye began aching and had pain in it, and it made me realize just how far I've come.

Here is what I am doing in the case that it might help someone else. Please keep in mind that I am not a doctor, more like my own "patient advocate":

1) Dry eye cocktail: Every morning, I have a glass of grapefruit juice with the following - 2 tablespoons of Carlson's Very Finest Fish Oil, 2 drops of mycellized vitamin A @ 5,000 IUs, 1 vitamin D3 tablet @ 5,000 IUs, 1 Carlson's E-Gems vitamin E capsule, and 1 multivitamin.

2) I am a vegetarian so I automatically am eating a lot of fruit & veggies every day. Diet is key. I rarely eat sweets and you will never see me putting a diet soda to my lips. I drink green tea every morning. Remember that you truly are what you eat.

3) Genteal Gel at night + a sleep mask. In the beginning, I didn't think Genteal Gel was working for me but I was so freaked out at that time, I don't think anything would have helped. If you're waking up with dry eyes though, you need night protection, and that's the bottom line.

4) Mental stability: This is a biggie. I had to forgive myself for choosing to do LASIK, and I had to stop GOOGLING incessantly and worrying about the future. The chances of me developing corneal ectasia, of the dry eye getting incapacitating, or of the need for a corneal transplant arising are very slim and it was doing me ZERO GOOD to worry about it day in and day out. If you are an "internet researcher" like myself, STOP.