Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Post Lasik victim --> Drye eye/eye strain

Hi guys, I'm new here!

here's the deal. I had conventional Lasik end of 2009 (initial prescription: 2x -6.00, after Lasik: left: S: -0.50 C -0.75 and right S: +1 C -0.75 ) and a retreatment after 2.5 months on the right eye due to ghosting (final result: S -0.5 C -1.00). Ghosting has changed but not decreased. Most of the time I can deal with the current prescription although the right eye has decreasing acuity during the day.

The major problem for me is dry eye (both eyes), at least I think so. During the past year I have been to several eye docs, with always the same result: not severe dry eye, but somewhat dry though.

I have been using eye drops ever since: no easing of pain most of the time.
    I have been taking fish oil: no improvement.
    Now this week I had inferior punctal plug: no result.

I am a professional computer use 8h/day, and that's where the problem is. Ofcourse the problem tends to intensify during working hours with continuing pain/fatigue during the evening. Eye strain, very tired eyes, burning hot pain most of the afternoon/evening. Also car driving puts the eyes on fire.

I also believe the cause for the eye strain is the ghosting and astigmatism in both eyes, and the eyes not working well together.

Anyone can comment on this situation where none of the treatments (eye drops, omega3, punctal plugs) work?
    Has anyone experienced no improvement from inferior punctal plugs?
    Should I have patience to allow the punctal plugs to take effect?
    Sometimes I think the eye strain is due only to my imagination/fear of dry eye during working hours.
    I really need to have some improvement in the burning pain during working hours, cause it's taking effect on daily behavior/mood.

Thanks!

Olb,

Be patient with the plugs, worst case scenario they don't work and you have them removed.