I feel worthless...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I feel worthless...

Hi my name is Joe. I came across this site and wanted to thank you all for your strength, bravery and the support everyone gives to others.

I sit here and type with a heavy heart and eyes that feel like needles are being pushed into them. I have DES, a symptom of GVHD from a bone marrow transplant I received in 09 for treatment of Hodgkin's Lymphoma. My DES started about a year ago. I'm not gonna explain all my symptoms you all know what they are.

I work as a network security analyst so I am on a computer 10-12 hrs a day. Working has been so hard, by 8 o'clock at night I just want to shut myself in a dark room and sleep. And even when I'm working the staring at multiple computer screens I constantly use eye drops and cold compresses to make it through the day.

I have been a motorcycle rider for over 30 yrs and DES is making it almost impossible to ride. I've actually put drops in my eyes while riding, not the smartest thing I've done. Last year during the spring/summer I rode close to 10,000 miles, this year I didn't break 2,000

I've been fishing my whole life and now the wind and sun make it unbearable.

I go to my son's games and I can't even find him out there. Of course I don't tell him this but then when he asks "Hey did you see that play I made?" My heart breaks.

I've tried all the common remedies, from a simple cold pack to plugs and nothing really gave me any comfort. My next thing is the PROSE treatment from BFS. They are reviewing my history as I write this.

I don't know what else to do, my career, my lively hood are all being jeopardized.

Hi and welcome. I'm so very sorry for what you're going through.