Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Future Scleral Lens fitter

Hi there everybody,

I am new to this thing and to online forums/blogs in general. I joined for many reasons, but ultimately I am trying to help those of you out there who can't seem to find a solution to their corneal problems.

A little bit about myself:

I am a 4th year optometry student out of the New England College of Optometry. Originally from the Toronto, Ontario area. My passion in optometry is helping patients return to a better quality of life via specialty lens fitting. Secondarily, I am interested in nutrition. It is important not only for eye health, but also for heart, brain, and whole body health

I will be an optometrist in several months (summer of 2012) hoping to start practicing in the Vancouver, BC, Canada area. During my rotations I had the great opportunity to work with a big name in the SCLERAL LENS arena. His name was Dr. Ed Boshnick out of Miami, FL. There I witnessed patient after patient coming to see him for a plethora of reasons (mostly kcone, post corneal grafts, post corneal surgery problems (LASIK, RK, PRK) and all with the same story - "Doc, I've been everywhere and tried almost everything. I don't know what to do and you're my last resort". It has amazed me how fitting of scleral lenses and other special lens modalities has improved not only his patients vision/site, but also their comfort and quality of life. It has been a great opportunity for myself to learn and start to hone this skill, but also to see the great need - many people of which do not know where to turn for help.

I am looking forward to communicating both with the professional eyecare community as well as patients regarding their eye conditions and specialty lenses and eye nutrition.