Hello and thanks

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello and thanks

I already posted once in the general area, but I never did introduce myself. I'm happy to have found this website, I've learned so much by reading these posts. I'm still relatively new to dry eye, only been suffering from it for a bit over a year. It appeared quite suddenly and I don't really know why.

I guess my problem isn't really as severe as what most of you have here. I wish you all a lot of strength in dealing with all this. I can only imagine what you must be going through.

I mostly have problems with my eyes towards the evening and then in the morning as I try to open my eyes. Drops don't make the situation significantly better, but at least I can open my eyes in the morning without too much pain. I have to read and use the computer a lot and towards the evening I often experience a general sense of dryness which also makes my vision slightly blurred.

Because so far I've been able to cope with OTC drops, I haven't really sought a diagnosis either. When I saw an eye doctor to get a prescription for glasses in the spring, she did see that there were dry areas in my eyes and wrote a prescription for drops (but those were simply the same drops I'd been using before, in my case a prescription meant I could buy them at a lower price, and luckily she also recommended using drops in single vials, as I've now learned about the dangers of BAC). But she didn't really seem interested in exploring the cause of dryness as I wasn't really pushing for it either.

I'm reluctant to start seeking for a diagnosis as long as I can cope because it does seem to be difficult to find answers, and knowing myself, uncertainty about health issues tends to make me anxious so I'd rather not delve too deeply into this if I don't have to. I don't know, perhaps getting a diagnosis would help though?