Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello - 48, male, New Grad RN Here Almost Debilitated with Harsh MGD Onset

Hello,
    Newbie here, 48 years old male. 9 year old Lasik, never had dry eye problems with. However, 16 month old PRK enhancement in right eye seems to be coinciding with a worsening and now debilitating dry eye problem over the last year. It's almost a miracle I made it through nursing school!

Help. Does my doc know what he is talking about?

1) he is telling me that my meiobian glands are producing too much oil not too little.
    Schirmer Test (that I requested today): 15 right eye, 24 left eye
    Did not perform TBUT (?)(!)

2) he says that Azasite is known to thin out the excessively thick oil layers. ?

3) he is also offering IPL as one option ($200 for a single treatment on both eyes...says some patients are reporting 6 months to a year of relief)

4) he didn't seem too convinced or impressed with my wanting to get to the real root of the problem (i.e., possibly allergies or "condition X" in tandem with PRK...) and made it seem like MGD was just something that had to be dealt with chronically now. Hrumph.

So basically, he is talking about Azasite and IPL, Doxy and of course steroids as needed but very discriminately. He's not a bad doc but I just feel like he's not getting my angle regarding wanting to find the real cause. Plus I thought MGD was too little oil not too much? He also recommended another Doctor that specializes in MGD when I kept driving home the point that my functioning is to the point of debilitating in frequent exacerbations.

I wake up very swollen every day and take a 20 minute hot shower to ease it down.

My eyes have been sensitive my whole life. Extreme seasonal allergies/hayfever which has subsided in the last 10 years (I'm 48).

I sleep with a cat. Who knows, right? Can anybody relate on allergies as a possible solution?